R.I.P.

It’s a day of mourning here in the BugMan household, as we’ve had a second death in the family.  It was almost six months ago that my LOOK 486KG met her untimely end at the Missouri State Time Trial.  Still not quite over her loss, I just learned that her younger sister, my beloved LOOK 585, has made her final ascent to that great bike rack in the sky.

2005 LOOK 585 TeamLOOK 585 Team
Born September 25, 2005
Died December 31, 2008
Rest in peace!

I had just put on a new chain and installed new shift cables.  While the chain was off I took the chance to scrub her down real good (just can’t install new parts on a dirty bike).  After adjusting the cable tension, I put on the finishing touch – red cable end caps that I had scored from TK.  Even though she was now over 3 years old, she still looked brand new everytime I cleaned her up.  I loved that bike!  After everything was just so, I took her out for a ride to make sure things were working properly, and for the most part it all seemed to be dialed in good.  I sure enjoyed that nice, crisp shifting – it always amazes me what a difference new cables can make after just a few thousand miles.  I noticed, however, some lateral movement in the crankset – hmm, I guess something needs tightening.  I went ahead and finished my ride, and when I got home I checked the chainring bolts – everything seemed fine, so I figured it was a bottom bracket issue.  I like to do most of the work on my bikes, but there are three things I figure it’s best to leave to the professionals – hubs, headset, and bottom bracket.  So the next day – the last day of the year – I took the bike in and had TK take a look at it.  He reached down to see if he could hand-tighten the left bottom bracket cup, and I saw a look of horror come over his face as he watched the right cup spin freely.  I knew it was bad before he even said anything.  Apparently a warranty issue, I took the bike on down to the Shark to have Mike take a look, and without hesitation he said, “We’ll get you a new frame.”  I asked if there was any way to repair it, and he repeated, “We’ll just get you a new frame.”  It seems the bottom bracket shell had detached from the frame, and trying to fix something like that just isn’t worth it.  It must have been all the climbing!

I guess it’s kind of exciting to be getting a new frame (thank goodness for LOOK’s 5-year frame warranty), but I’m still sad – I loved that frame!  Even though I never won a race with it, I had some amazing journeys on it.  Obviously l’Etape du Tour 2007 was the most memorable of these, but I also took it to Florida the year before, eventually making my way halfway down the Keys.  I loved the looks of it and I loved the way it rode.  I loved the fact that it was a limited Team edition from the first model year – one of only 100 such frames shipped to the U.S.  It was my baby! I know I can’t complain – I’m sure the new frame will be just as incredible and I’ll probably eventually come to call it my baby, also.  Moreover, it’s not everyday you get a new frame as a warranty replacement for a frame with ~18,000 miles.  Fortunately, LOOK is still making a white Team edition for the 2009 model year, so I won’t have to go through withdrawal from my sick, euro-fag addiction to all things white.  But I’ll always have a special place in my heart for the original LOOK 585 Team.

About Ted C. MacRae

I am a retired ag biotech research entomologist and lifelong avocational beetle taxonomist. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Bikes, Components and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to R.I.P.

  1. Patrick says:

    I believe that Vince had the exact same problem with his 585.

  2. Casey Ryback says:

    Another broken frame notch to put on the bedpost! Always cool, though annoying, to break a frame. Maybe that’s just the mountain biker in me though…

  3. sherkat says:

    Great to hear that Look is till pushing the industry on the “do the right thing” factor on frame breaks. I almost bought a Look in 1999 when I knew that cycling was going to be the only thing I’d be able to do. I walked into Nashville’s Bike Pedlar to see Lynn Greer (who now owns Gran Fondo, one of the best shops in the US–GO there if you’re ever in Nashville). Lynn knew on the spot that I was seriously addicted, and hurting for cash. One of his suggestions was to build up on a lugged Look model (I can’t remember which), and I remember that his rationale was that they’d back the frame no matter what, and it was strong and fairly light. Fortunately, I got the Pegoretti instead….

  4. Boz says:

    Tough on bikes, eh? When you’re mashing that sort of wattage I guess they break eventually. Awesome on the warranty and Mike is taking care of you so all isn’t lost.

  5. I can’t complain – even though I took good care it (the running joke for a year after I first got it was that I “licked” it clean), I pretty much pummeled the crap out of that bike with all the climbs around here. I’m not the lightest guy, either, so I’d say the frame gave its best effort.

    I’ll feel a lot better when I actually hear that a white 585 Team, size M, is on order.

    • Monty Rowland says:

      Ted, I recently acquired the same exact bike minus the fork, which I had found in Quebec Canada. Finally build up and what I can say is that its the most enjoyable bike Ive ever had. ( and I have had many ) I had some questions for you, thats if your going to read this posting – its been a long time

      Monty Rowland

  6. Allison says:

    You kill me. I think your bike looks really cute. But it takes more than that to win, I guess.

Leave a comment