2009 LOOK 585 Ultra

Good news: My replacement frame has been selected, is available in my size, and has been ordered. In a couple of weeks or so I should have it in my hands and ready to start putting it through the rigors of what is BugMan cycling.

Even better news: Not only is my frame being replaced for free, it is being replaced with a brand new 2009 model. I gotta give props to LOOK Cycle for their stand up support of their 5-year frame warranty.  I put a hella lotta miles on that frame (20,481 to be exact), with a roughly estimated ~1,000 climbs.  It doesn’t matter how well I maintained that bike (and I did) – that’s a lifetime of use for many frames.  I’ve also gotta give great props to Mike at Big Shark for treating me right with this – no questions asked.

Not so good news: All-white is not a color choice for the 2009 model year 585 😦  Now, some of you may be quite sick of hearing about white this and white that – I know, it’s a sick obsession.  Sorry, I just think white is the ultimate expression of Euro-pro.  Not that I think I’m so pro… I don’t even race anymore.  But I do like riding in style.  I guess to some people, that makes me ‘that guy’ – you know, racer wannabe, fred.  Whatever – I did my time on the circuit and learned to appreciate style as well as function.  I know what I like, and white looks bad ass!

The choice: The current 585 (Origin) is still mostly white, but the headtube and fork are black with gold highlights.  Not all-white, but almost.  It could look pretty hot.  Then I started looking at the 585 Ultra – identical geometry, weight, and price as the 585 Origin, but the carbon fiber lay up makes the frame a little stiffer.  Recommended for heavier, more powerful riders.  I don’t know about the “more powerful”, but I’m certainly no lightweight.  It might actually be a better choice for my style of riding – lots of hard miles torquing up and down all the short, sharp climbs around here.  The paint job is a reverse of the Origin – white headtube and fork fading to black, but with red highlights instead of gold.  I started visualizing this frame built up with my gear – white saddle with red center stripe, Zipp 404 wheels, white FSA stem, and (of course) white bar tape.  Wow – add little touches like red chainring bolts and those red cable end caps I scored from TK, and this could be one helluva looker.  So, I went with the Ultra – I’m thinking I could actually love this bike as much as I loved the first one!

2009 LOOK 585 Ultra

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Bikes, Components and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2009 LOOK 585 Ultra

  1. James says:

    Looked very pro giving your interview to KSDK today. Sorry to hear about your Look. Maybe you should take it as a sign that breaking two in a year means you should ride something else.

  2. My 7 seconds of fame! At least I was in my cyclist’s gear.

    I don’t blame LOOK for what happened to my TT bike -crashing it into a ditch and then running straight into a curb 10 minutes later is a lot to ask of any bike. And the 585 – a new frame for one with over 20,000 miles and ~1,000 climbs in it? I’d say I got my money’s worth out of it.

  3. AMR says:

    I, also, think that I found the perfect bike but sometimes wonder how other frames would feel. It is going to be hard to decide on what to get if I have to replace my R3.
    AMR

Leave a Reply

