My first dog bite

It was another cool (58°F) but gorgeously sunny day with little wind. I felt awesome from the start and could tell I was going to ride well, and the stats prove it – PR on 4 out of 7 climbs, and on the other 3 I was within 3-7 seconds of my best time. I wanted to add the Allenton Loop but turned left at Six Flags because I was worried about being late to my nephew Jack’s confirmation party. Bad choice, because coming back along Melrose between Manchester and Ossenfort I got bit by a dog! I didn’t see him until he already had a beat on me, so there was no time to grab the pump. I kicked him away from my right side, but he crossed in front of the bike and circled around and came up behind me on the left and then clamped down on my calf. I’ve got two deep punctures and a lot of flesh trauma. I’ve been chased by a lot of dogs, but I could tell there was something different about this one and that he meant business. Police, ambulance, fire truck, the whole she-bang, but after they field dressed the wounds I decided to ride the rest of the way home, get cleaned up, and drive myself to urgent care. The owner kept saying, “He’s really not a mean dog.” I beg to differ. Turns out the owner normally keeps him penned but had let him out while he was mowing the grass – he never even knew what had happened until he saw all the emergency vehicles on the road. He got a summons and the dog was taken by animal control for 10-day quarantine because his rabies and other shots weren’t up to date – of course! What a bitch of a thing to happen when I was having one of my best rides of the season.
20140517
© Ted C. MacRae 2014

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

