Thursday Night Beatdown!

Well, it appears that the Marquette Ride has not only been resurrected but returned to its old form.  After three weeks of trying to get this classic route back in the minds of local cyclists, it appears that Thursday nights are the consensus, with 12 of us showing up for last night’s version.  It couldn’t have been a more perfect night weatherwise, with temps hovering right around 70F at the start, and with all the repaving that has taken place in Wildwood over the past few years, nearly every stretch of the route features clean, smooth blacktop.

Unfortunately, it appears that age and an end to my racing career have taken a toll on the BugMan – no longer one of the driving forces at the front of the race ride.  There were a number of really strong dudes that showed up – Jay, Andy, David, Cody, and a couple of skinny little stronger than shit kids that we’ll be hearing more of in the future.  Oh, I didn’t do badly – shaving more than two minutes off of last weeks time by coming in right at 1:41 (21.1 mph) – that’s about as fast as I can do that hilly route.  Watching them ride away on the Melrose climb was tough, but working with Jay (who held back because of a mechanical) to catch back up eased the pain.  When we got to Doberman and I watched them start dancing on their pedals – I knew I was phuqued.  Still, I’m not a quitter, and I rode the remainder of the course as hard as I could.  I may have gotten dropped, but I’m not gonna just roll over and die!

I’ll be on the road all this coming week, so no Marquette punishment this Thursday.  But – I’ll be back!

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday Night Beatdown!

  1. Charles says:

    Ted,
    Another enjoyable trip to your blog. I’m one of the boomers, and regularly watch others ride away from me! I liked the post showing the ticket you rec’d, and your comments about it. Barron still working as po? Things out this way are pretty nice right now. Tour de Nez in Truckee is coming up soon. I hope to go. Keep riding.
    Charlie

    • Hi Charlie. I’m not really used to watching others ride away from me on a local group ride yet – life moves on!

      I don’t know what Officer Barron is up to or if he has changed his ways, but I’ve continued riding through Frontenac regularly and have seen cops on several occasions – nary a conflict!

      I sure wish I was out your way. Now that I’m not racing, some of the recreational-type tour rides sound appealing. A recreational-type tour ride in the Sierra Nevada sounds uber-appealing!

Leave a Reply

