I be bad

Yesterday was my first weekend in town since the end of February. The first weekend of March I drove up to Chicago (I was the keynote speaker at the Illinois Butterfly Monitoring Network’s annual workshop), and the second and third weekends I was either driving to Lake Tahoe for Spring Break or driving back home.  Spring break was great – cross country skiing, alpine skiing, lots of hiking in some of the most incredibly beautiful places one can possibly imagine (Eagle Falls, Emerald BayPyramid Creek were particular standouts), and just enough time to forget about work and the daily grind back home and refresh the mind.

We drove to Lake Tahoe, and I seriously considered bringing my road bike.  A few months before I moved back to St. Louis while living in Sacramento, I joined a group and rode the entire perimeter of Lake Tahoe.  At 72 miles with around 4,000′ of climbing, it’s not a ride that today I would characterize as extraordinarily difficult.  But in those days, being a newbie road cyclist and thinking that 1,000 miles in a year was a big accomplishment, that ride was the most difficult thing I had attempted to that point.  My memories of the challenge, the companionship, and the unbelievable scenery keep it high in the ranks of my most epic rides.  Ultimately, I decided not to bring my bike because of my memories of the significant amount of snow at lake level on our first Spring Break trip to Lake Tahoe last year.  Pity that I didn’t this time – while there was snow at lake level, the roads around the entire perimeter were clear and dry.  I would have loved to have gotten out the bike and popped off a perimeter ride one of the days I was there.

So, I found myself back in St. Louis on a weekend for the first time in quite a while, and I was really itching to do a long ride.  Saturday’s rain made Sunday the obvious pick day, but that looked to be in real jeapardy when I awoke to several inches of snow Sunday morning.  Clearing skies and rapidly rising temperatures, however, make quick work of the snow, and by early afternoon I was on the roads – yeah!  I immediately headed for the hills, climbing right up Ossenfort at mile 1.2 in the ride.  Hitting Hwy 100 from Melrose, I made an immediate, illogical decision to climb Woodland Meadows.  Okay, I’m not that crazy – I circled around to the east end and climbed it westward, no piece of cake to be sure, but not the savagely brutal climb that it is going eastward.  Down the double descent on Melrose to climb Wood and then St. Paul after the rollers of Ridge.  Climbing the hills was like visiting an old friend – it was good to see them again.

All said and done, it was a nice 50-miler.  I thought back to that ride around Lake Tahoe so many years ago – how I anticipated and trained for that 72 mile ride, and the sense of accomplishment I had after I did it.  These days, with several years of racing and formal training now behind me, my base fitness is an order of magnitude higher – I can go out and pop off a hilly 50 miler after not doing so for a month and hardly give it a second thought (in fact, go out the next day and tempo another 25 miles or so – with fresh legs).  There’s a sense of accomplishment in that, itself.

A shout to former teammate James (whose wife is faster than him) – we caught up at a stoplight today while I was out on the bike.  Maybe someday James will buckle down and actually get faster than his wife 😉

Copyright © Ted C. MacRae 2009

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I be bad

  1. James says:

    She will always be faster. My only chance is a technical mountain bike race but even then it won’t be easy.

  2. velosopher says:

    Ted, pardon the non sequitur: just making sure you know that I posted a response to your yoga question at my post on that topic! Enjoy.

  3. Arthur Evans says:

    Nice post! Do you offer tips on how you are able to pack so much in to each and every day? As you already know, I have given up on regular blogging for the time being–too many beetles, too little time!

    • Hi Art – no secret, you just blow off things. Do I really need to pay the bills, or should I go out for a ride? 😉

      I struggled with wanting greater frequency on my other blog but not having the time – I eventually decided that the world will survive if I don’t write something everyday, and when I do write something it doesn’t have to be the grandest masterpiece ever. Learning to write more off the cuff and trying to do only one magnus opus or so a month has helped a lot.

  4. Charles says:

    Lake Tahoe is just up the road from me. It is a wonderful place to ride, mountain or road, and the opportunities around the lake are plentiful and varied: the road around the lake for roadies, Flume Trail, Mr. Toads, back roads in the forest, trails along the Truckee Rive–it’s incredible! Next trip out this way, either bring your bike or rent one. You know it’s worth it!

    • Hi Charles. Thanks for stopping by – you lucky dog getting to live near Tahoe. I’ll be there for good someday, until then I gotta keep workin’. Absolutely I will bring my bike next time, I can’t wait to ride around the lake again.

      I checked out your blog, Boomers on Bicycles – nice site!

      Sorry about the broken links in this post – they’re fixed now.

  5. Ted,
    There is a Tahoe ride coming up later this spring, early summer: a tour around the Lake. It happens every year, so if you don’t make it this year, maybe next. Let me know if you decide to come out and ride it. thanks for taking a look at Boomers on Bicycles.
    Charlie

Leave a Reply

