Back on the bike

It has been 16 days since I broke my rib, and things are finally starting to look up. My rib was (slowly) feeling a little better each day, but it wasn’t until this past Monday that I finally was able to sleep comfortably in my bed – no more sleeping in the recliner down in the cold living room. My hip, however, continued to have sharp pain that was aggravated by walking or lifting my leg. At first I thought I had pulled a groin muscle, but as time went on and I saw no improvement I began to think maybe I actually injured the hip socket itself. Just when I thought additional treatment beyond time alone might be required, it improved dramatically. On Thursday it felt as though it might be turning the corner, and by Friday it was hardly bothering me at all.

By the weekend I was itching to ride. It had been 15 days since I last rode – not long enough to lose major fitness, but certainly enough time to require some reacquainting between my body and the bike. I went out for an easy spin down to Chesterfield Valley and back – about 25 miles and with minimal climbing (except for that hill back into my neighborhood!). I wasn’t sure if I was ready or whether my rib and/or hip would give me a problem, but I wanted to give a try and see. It was also rather cold (~20°F), so I was a little worried that I might have lost my ‘cold conditioning.’

In the end, I did fine. It felt good to get my legs moving again on a pleasurable, albeit slow, ride. My hip didn’t bother me at all, nor did the cold. My rib did give me some problems – it hurts if I try to stand while climbing, so I had to remain seated and just use easier gears than normal. That works fine in most cases, but on steep climbs for which I already use the bottom gear (such as the one into my neighborhood) I had to grunt it out.

Today my legs are a tad stiff, not bad. I had planned to get out for another hour or so today, but snow has spoiled that plan. Will I do the trainer instead? Heck no – I don’t do trainers! Maybe I’ll just go for a walk in the woods. I don’t think I’ll try commuting this first week – it’s too hard of a route. Instead I’ll bring the bike in with me and do some easy lunchtime rides. Hopefully, by next weekend I’ll be ready to try a fairly long ride – perhaps even a portion of the BugMan™ route!

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back on the bike

  1. rudy says:

    Glad you’re feeling better! Snow? Cross tires! (actually it was kind of embaraaaassing – i gave that cold weather commuting clinic today, and had to ride back rather gingerly on my slick gatorskins)

  2. Boz says:

    You made it back on the bike quicker than I did. Today is my 19th day off the bike and with the snow, I won’t be getting outside anytime soon. Looks like I’ll start the season in the other pain cave…the basement.

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

