Another upgrade

I know you guys are probably sick of hearing me talk about my bike, but I just can’t help it. There were some good suggestions on my previous ‘upgrade’ post – I really liked the white or white/red spacer idea, but nobody makes real white spacers. You can get “white carbon” spacers, but the color is more silvery than white – no can do on this bike. I also liked Jim’s idea for white cable ties to hold the computer to the stem, but in the case of my computer the ties are actually part of the mount itself. I could probably cut them off and ‘jury rig’ something, but jury rigging anything on this bike seems to defeat the whole narcissistic point of this exercise to begin with. White seatpost? Nyeah – I’m kinda finicky with how seatposts adjust, and I’m really happy with the LOOK post.

So it was time to replace the cables and housings and I brought it into the shop. They asked me if I wanted to stick with silver housings, and right then an idea popped into my head. I said, “Hey, do you have any white cable housings?” They got out a box of assorted housings of all different colors, rummaged through it, and found some white shifter housings. “Cool” I said, “What about brakes?” They rummaged some more, but no white brake housings could be found. Then he pulled out a set and said, “We’ve got red brake housings.” I thought red might also look good, so I asked him to look for some red shifter housings. No luck. “So you’ve got white shifters but no brakes and red brakes but no shifters.” Right then, we both looked at each other – obviously thinking the same thing. “Hey, that might look pretty good.” So I went for it, and I like it. You can judge for yourself:

By the way, after my earlier comment about going full bore with the logo look on my bike, I started wondering exactly how many logos I actually do have on my bike. Being an anal retentive sort, I couldn’t resist counting them. Including all brand and product names (but not part numbers or serial numbers), there are 106 logos on my bike – not including the handlebar tape 😉

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Bikes, Components and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another upgrade

  1. Bobber says:

    Looks good. The white and red housing matches your bar.

  2. Anonymous says:

    looks like…a giant insect. hmmmm.

    r

  3. Justin says:

    Very Nice!

  4. Anonymous says:

    what kind of bar tape is that

Leave a Reply

