21 climbs, 1 sigh of relief!

Last week I did my 1st century, but cracking after 90 miles didn’t give me much confidence that I was where I needed to be yet to do well at L’Etape. For my 2nd century this past Sunday, I did a few things differently based on what I learned from last weekend. While everyone else was out racing in Webster Groves, I rode to Ghisallo to meet up with Jose, and together we did the BugMan “Ultra” route in reverse. Unlike last week, however, we: 1) rode the flats to Wildhorse Creek to get in ~10 miles of warmup before starting the hard climbing; 2) rode a tad easier pace on the 1st two climbs of the day (Wildhorse Creek to Rieger and Ossenfort to Hwy T), and 3) I ate a sandwich much earlier in the ride (at about the 50-mile mark). This really payed off – not only did I feel great for the entire ride, but I also climbed well to the very end. I stayed seated on most of the big climbs for maximum training benefit, primarily using the 19t and 21t cogs (I did need the 23t on Ries and the upper part of the 2nd Allenton climb). The Marshall climb went really well – I managed a fairly quick spin for the entire 1-mile climb in the 19t. Last week I had to limp back to the west along Clayton, but this week we rode Conway with its tough little rollers. Once back in the Valley, I dropped Jose off at Ghisallo and finished off the final 15 miles with more tough climbing on Orrville, Old Eatherton, Wildhorse Creek (again!), and DeHart Farm at the very end (needed the 25t for that one!). In all I did just under 110 miles with 21 total climbs. The weather was cooler than last week, but I’m sure riding and eating smarter had more to do with how much better I felt. I’m glad Jose has been willing to go out and train with me during this final push – more fun than solo. Next weekend I’ll try to do ~120 miles with at least as much climbing and finish up the weekend before I leave with one final, tough century down into Jefferson Co.

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in L'Etape du Tour and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 21 climbs, 1 sigh of relief!

  1. bobber says:

    You going to have any time for bugs on the trip?

  2. Daniel B. says:

    Sounds like more fun than the Webster Crit…

  3. Patrick says:

    …and all winter, y’all thought I was weird for getting those ham-n-cheese sammies at WHC & 109!!!!!! 😉

    Maybe I’ll hit it on Sunday with you…if you’re okay with that.

    Everyone has been asking where Jose is…even people on other teams were asking us at the WG crit.

    We’re looking forward to having you back racing with us…esp. with this killer Le Forme you’re getting!

Leave a Reply

