Group ride slut

I haven’t done many group rides this season (outside of my own team rides) – not that I don’t want to, they just haven’t meshed with my schedule or training plans. I did go to one Tues Marquette ride early on in the season – I think TNW has finally killed this ride, as there were only 2 other riders there. I also got to do a Wed Hub ride a few weeks ago – I wasn’t feeling all that hot but wanted to see what Dan B had been up to. Unfortunately, da sucka was still in hiding! And I’ve still only made it to one Mon St. Charles ride.

Sometimes I wonder what draws me to these group rides, they always seem to be littered with boneheads who are strong enough to get in the way but not smart enough to make it work. I guess it’s like a moth to the flame! At the St. Charles ride this moreon apparently decided I was the one to watch (hah!) and leeched my wheel all night. I couldn’t get the guy to pull through to save my life! Then, rounding the last corner for the sprint I had to scrub some speed because of a car – I’m not risking being road smear for a chance of victory on that (or any) ride! The rider in front of me apparently had different values and went for it, so there goes the sprint. I just tempoed the final stretch, and 50 yds out Mr. moreon wheel sucker jumps around me to ‘take’ 2nd. Then there was the rider on the Hub ride who ‘attacked’ while I was pacing the group up the Conway climb – I just got on his wheel and followed, and then when he blew up he started yelling at me for not pulling through to keep the ‘attack’ going. We all have our stories.

This week reminded me of what I like about group rides. With State RR behind me, my focus now is on getting as many miles as I can with other fast people so I might have a chance of surviving l’Etape and the Pyrennes in July. And with few family commitments this week (for a change) I had the chance to do both the Hub ride on Wed and the DRJ Thu ride (sort of a resurrected Marquette ride). Dan B has apparently gone back into hiding after his brief cameo appearance at State RR, but Marijn, Kevin W, and Ryan H made the Hub ride fun and spirited (thanks Marijn for reminding me it was not a sprint night!). The DRJ ride last night was a blast – Chris, Bob, Wes and I rode a brutal pace, recreating memories of our hard, fun rides on the Marquette route last year! Chris remains fast as ever, but Bob and esp. Wes have gotten much stronger since then. Chris served as our rabbit, with us three dogs nipping at his heels (or trying to) on each climb. We averaged an impressive 21.3 mph, but I’m sure Chris thinks we could’ve done better had it not been for my “old man pulls” 😉

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Group ride slut

  1. Daniel B. says:

    Yeah, yeah, yeah… not in hiding! Like you mentioned; some of the normal weekly group rides don’t fit into the training. The plan should get me back for the crits, and Weds are easy. Should be at all the Tues Nite Worlds from here on out though… short of them being rained out, which has become routine. Never can tell tho…

    Forgot you’re going to France – awesome.

  2. Patrick says:

    Those Hub rides are always weird for me…I love riding (and catching up) with some of the guys, and others seem to be the biggest morons to ever balance on 2 wheels (though signal-to-noise ratio is much better than other group rides that are around).

    I always go out there thinking I’ll have a pleasant roll around and end up going much harder than I’d planned on, which is not always a bad thing for a lazy person like me! 😉

    I, too, had been looking forward to see Dan at every Hub ride (though I missed the last couple)…maybe he can rearrange his training plan for us, Ted? 😉

Leave a Reply

