Training gone to crap…

I missed Froze Toes – not because I’m not ready (which I’m not), but because they postponed it from the week before when I could’ve done it to this past weekend when I couldn’t do it.

I really had a good thing going this winter, even through January and early February with all the bad weather – I was getting out for short rides during the week with big miles and hill work on the weekends and some running sprinkled in for cross-training. Most of those weekends rides were solo – the BugMan™­ ride lost its popularity once starting temps dipped below 20°F – but that just made it even easier for me to get the kind of workout I wanted. February rolled around and it looked like I’d open up the new season reasonably strong. Then, all of a sudden, the past few weeks have gone to hell! It started with a cold in mid-February – I took off a few days to get over that, and just when I felt good again another storm came through and made the roads dicey for a few days. Since I refuse to ride the trainer (we’ll see if that will be my fatal mantra!) I picked up the running for the next few days until I could get back on the bike. A fast ride on the BugMan™ route with KOM efforts against Justin and Jason took me into the week (original) of Froze Toes feeling strong, but then weather and the sometimes unavoidable crush of family duties conspired to keep me off the bike both days that weekend for the first time since, well, I don’t know when. Last week I got in exactly two rides before BAM – I’m sick again, and this time it’s a doozey! My wife had it the week before and I spent 7 days wondering if/when it was gonna get me. Well it did, and now that’s two weekends in a row completely off the bike – aack! I’m just now feeling normal again, and I might try to get in an easy ride tomorrow, hopefully without coughing up a lung. The season’s first crit is this weekend (Sylvan Springs), and though it’s not an important race at all for me I sure would like to be halfway useful to the team.

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Training gone to crap…

  1. Robert says:

    Ted,
    Didn’t you read the discussion on Stl Biking? Running will ruin your bike racing (my exaggeration).

    Not to open up a can of worms at all but out of curiosity, have you ever tried taking vitamin C for colds and flu?

  2. Ted M. says:

    Yeah, I saw it. I guess those self-appointed experts are right – my cycling has gone to crap since I started running 3 years ago 😉

    I get plenty of vitamin C. I’m sure it helps, but sometimes you’re still gonna get sick. I’ve been pretty healthy the past few winters – just bad timing this month.

Leave a Reply

