I am alive and well…

I suppose I’ve kept my readers (both of them) in suspense long enough. I haven’t blogged for a long time because, frankly, I just didn’t care to. Hey, we all take breaks (except Furby) – Justin took forever getting ready for Downer’s Grove, Rusty only posts when he starts training or joins a new team (congrats on your upgrade!), and Chris is still stuck on the State crit.

I think writing that total piece of fiction in my last post drained all my creative juices for a while and I needed some time to replenish. The only thing more fun that writing it was seeing if anybody thought it was for real. Now, you’d have to know me to know that I’d never flip a driver the bird, and I suppose 56 miles in 2:30 with hill repeats is doable for some hard core types (not me!), but c’mon – 53×12 up the entrance hill in Babler? Big chainring up a 16% grade? Those were dead giveaways! I guess now nobody will ever trust me again!

Mostly I’ve just been doing other things and have not had much time to putz online. In October I went to Mexico to collect beetles. It was a good trip – we discovered a new species of Actenodes, and for the first time in the past 3 years I didn’t get sick. Being off the bike was a nice break, but I replaced it with lots of hiking in rugged terrain, so my fitness stayed pretty good. Since I returned I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to get a manuscript done to meet a Janauary submission deadline. This is also the time of year other entomologists ask me to identify beetles they collected during the summer, so I’ve got quite a few boxes to go through right now. It takes a lot of my time to do these identifications, but it also feeds my own research and ultimately my publications, so I never turn down these requests for IDs. My weekday riding has dropped a little – not much – but I’m getting in some good, long workouts on the weekends.

I don’t turn 50 until next April, but my wife went ahead and gave me a present:

I’m going to the Tour de France next summer!
– 19 days (stages 6-20)
– I’ll ride Le Etapa (it’s in the Pyrennes this year)
– watch several stage finishes, incl. the final time trial
– grandstand seats on the Champs Elysses for Stage 20

I guess my training goals will need to be modified a little next season!

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am alive and well…

  1. Jim says:

    That’s an awesome gift. If we can believe you. (haha) What group are you going with?

    You’ll love the riding over there.

  2. Justin Maciekowicz says:

    LUCKY BASTARD!!!!!! I envy you! 19 days is awesome. Your wife is the coolest!

  3. Ted M. says:

    Yep, it’s all true! I’m going with Mike’s group-when that tour ends my wife will meet me in Paris. We’ll spend the weekend there, visit Bordeaux for a few days, and then hook up with another tour group on Thursday evening for some more riding and to watch the last two stage finishes.

  4. Jim says:

    That’s great.

Leave a Reply

