ABR TT Redux…

…and the beginning of my life on a recumbent!

I ended the first of what I hope are not too many weeks off the bike with a medal! I came home Friday to find a small package from ABR (American Bicycle Racing) containing my 5th place medal from the recent ABR Masters TT Championships – huh? Apparently they had made a mistake in the results and given it to a recumbent rider, which were not even eligible in previous years and this year finally had their own category. Whoopty-doo! It was funny, because when I looked at the results after the race, I thought I’d gotten 5th place (which was bad enough). I even started walking up to the podium as they announced “5th place goes to Ted… Westerheide!” What?! I just figured I missed somebody when looking at the results and tried to nonchalantly slink back to where I had been standing. So I went online today and checked the results – yep, I was 5th in the 40-49 category and 6th overall. At least now I know that embarassing little episode wasn’t completely of my own doing.

So I’ve been off the bike for a week now, and it’s driving me nuts. The third day or so I was seeing a little improvement in the shoulder but came down with a cold – arghh, a double whammy! I started hitting the Zicam and Cold-Eze pretty hard and managed to get it easing up after only 3 days, but suffice it to say that between the separated shoulder, sore throat, and booger factory of a nose I have felt like shit this week! The cold is gone now, and the shoulder is actually feeling considerably better – I still need to wear the sling, but I can leave my forearm free and use it without too much discomfort as long as I don’t move the shoulder. Since I’m righthanded, I’ve had to relearn in lefthanded manner a lot of things you take for granted – using silverware, blowing your nose, etc. I never imagined it could be so hard to wipe one’s ass!

I went to the YMCA today to try doing a workout – on the way the roads were choked with cyclists out enjoying this beautiful weather. It made me jealous! But I did manage to get in an easy one-hour workout on the recumbent stationary bicycle. It didn’t bother my shoulder too much cause I could hold on down by my seat. It did start to bother my gluts after ~40 minutes, I don’t know if it was the seat position or if the recumbents actually recruit slightly different muscles than an upright bike. But, man, was it boring! It’s good to know there’s a workout I can do so I don’t have to suffer too much loss of fitness while I wait for this shoulder to heal, but geez – it’s gonna really test my discipline. It’s as boring as the trainer, which I pretty much refuse to resort to unless the roads are covered with ice and snow. Last winter I did every single ride outside (5-6 per week), ran on days I couldn’t ride, and never used the trainer once. The winter before I only used the trainer twice. Ask some of my teammates about the conditions I’ve ridden in on the Sunday ride I lead during the winter. The thought of 3-4 weeks on this equally boring recumbent is terrifying, but I also remember what it’s like to loose all your fitness (thanks again, asshole truck driver!), and the thought of that is even more terrifying to me. So I think I’ll do the recumbent and come back fit rather than fat.

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ABR TT Redux…

  1. Patrick says:

    I now possess a post-op club hand! Yeah, the butt-wiping is an interesting one. I told VDB that I was making the best of it, trying to imagine that it was just someone else wiping me…at least it gave me a chuckle!

  2. Jim says:

    Congrats on the 5th place medal but I have to ask. Assuming 1st was fake gold, 2nd was fake silver, 3rd was fake bronze, what does a 5th place medal look like?

Leave a Reply

