“MacRae wins Lafayette Square”

“On the heels of a stunning victory at the Missouri State Time Trial in July, MacRae goes on to score an impressive win in the opening race of this year’s Gateway Cup.”

10-yr old Mollie MacRae, that is! Yep, she did the MO State TT – her first bike race ever – and won a gold medal with a time of 44:44 on the 20-k course (her goal was to beat 45 minutes). She said, “but I was the only one in my race!” – to which I countered, “No, you were the only one that had the guts to show up and do it!” She liked that.

She definitely was not the only one in the Girls 9-10 race at Lafayette Square last night. She was nervous/excited all week about racing with other kids for the first time and me not being with her. When we got to the start line, I helped her get a spot in the middle of the 12-15 kids in the race and asked her if she wanted me to stay with her. She said no, she wanted me to be at the finish line. So I’m down there, and I realize in all the excitment I forgot to tell her about what gears to use. We’ve done quite a bit of riding together out here in far West County by now, so I just hoped she would get it figured it out. The announcer started the race, and I waited to see the kids coming over the rise. I don’t have my glasses on so I can’t see too well, but there’s a pink jersey and helmet leading the charge over the rise. It has to be Mollie! I start jumping up and down yelling, “Go, Mollie! Go!” The kids are pedaling furiously but she keeps her lead all the way to the line. She’s in the drops sprinting out-of-the-saddle – just like we’ve practiced – and has this big grin of exhiliration on her face as she crosses the line. Proud papa goes running out onto the course with his fist in the air and an even bigger smile on his face to greet his little champ! Action Images got this shot of her at the start line:

Gateway Cup 2006 - MollieDad didn’t do so well in his race – he got taken out in a crash in turn 4 with 3 laps to go. The diagnosis at the scene was a possible broken shoulder – news of which even made it into StlToday. However, X-rays after a short ambulance ride to the Barnes Hospital ER later revealed only a 2nd degree separation of the shoulder with no fractures – good news, indeed! So, while I sit here one-hand-typing this blog I can’t help but feel I dodged a bullet. The arm is immobilized, I’m in rather a lot of pain, and my season is suddenly over, but it looks like I’ve got a good chance to recover fairly quickly. With any luck, I’ll still be able to enjoy a good part of the autumn riding season before winter starts to set in.

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “MacRae wins Lafayette Square”

  1. azta110790 says:

    Glad to hear your arm’s not broken. We’ll miss you teh rest of teh weekend.

  2. Patrick says:

    Whoa…what a relief. I had heard broken collarbone, and then Aaron said that the ambulance driver thought broken shoulder, and what sounded bad enough got worse!

    I’m very happy to hear that you’re not _as_ bad off, but still sorry about the pain and 24hour discomfort. You can start your base earlier now and really tear it up at Froze Toes! 😉

  3. Robert says:

    Yo, tough luck Ted. I hope you don’t have any strange looking bulges like Mark had. Get well soon.

  4. Jim says:

    Good to hear that no bones were broken even though seperations are supposed to be pretty rough too. Heal up.

    And Congrats to your daughter.

  5. SPC Deal says:

    Ted,

    It looks like the Macrae’s and the Pirtles are in competition now on the youth side of things.

    Sorry to hear about the shoulder man.

  6. Aaron Hinni says:

    Glad to hear you are in good spirits and that things aren’t as bad as we heard that night.

    Since it is *just* a separation, can’t we duct tape it up and strap your arm to the bars?

    Get better!

    Again, congrats to your daughter. She looked really stoked after her race. Best placed Shark of the night!

  7. Ted M. says:

    Guys – thanks for all your support, both in your comments here and with your offers of assistance to my family and I Friday night. It definitely helps keep my outlook on the positive side of things.

    Sorry to miss the rest of this weekend – Lafayette was supposed to just be for “finding my form” before rocking-and-rolling in the next three races. Oh well, that’s life – but I’ll be back!

  8. Daniel B. says:

    hey, that was Arnold’s line in the “Terminator” movies, wasn’t it?

    Speed recovery, Ted!!

  9. Rollitup says:

    Ted, Congrats to your daughter on being 2 for 2. Quite a streak.

    I feel for you. My shoulder was seperated when I broke my collarbone this summer. I’ve been saying the seperation hurt worse than the break. I hope you have a comfortable lazy boy, it was the only way I could sleep. Speedy recovery!

  10. tk says:

    way to go to the junior macrae, and i hope you heal well and quickly, mugban!

Leave a Reply

