2006 Missouri State Criterium

Here’s the punch line – man, was it hot!!!

Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever raced in that kind of heat – several guy’s computers were reading ~102°F at the start line.

I did some work early to soften things up, but it put me in the red and I spent the next half hour wondering if I was going to finish this race.

Nice course, I’ve never done it before cuz it’s only been the last couple years I’ve gotten into crits. Some little climbs/chicanes at the far end that make good places to jump, but otherwise fast and straight.

Of course, a break gets away while I’m in no position to do anything. We’ve got a guy in it though (Joe Fuller), so I don’t worry about chasing it down. A few more guys try to bridge while I’m trying to survive, and bam – there go all the top ten spots – I’m just hoping Joe can hang in there. With 2 laps to go I’m feeling somewhat recovered and move up – just when we hit the little hill heading into one lap to go a CBC guy jumps and I tag him. We get a good gap going into the last lap, but it looks like the pack is gaining on the back side. We start around the capitol building heading towards the little hill and I’m just waiting to get swallowed, but we’ve still got a gap and I give it everything on the climb. Only a couple guys make it up to me and we role down the finishing straight. No money, no jersey, no medal, and no top ten – but I’m happy just to have survived the race and have held off the pack before the finish.

Doug “Double D” takes the jersey – impressive win for a cool dude! TJ gets another 2nd to go with his 2nd place finish in the State RR – no jersey for the guy but a bucketload of MOBAR points (that competition just heated up). Austin takes 3rd after winning the juniors jersey earlier that day – watch out, that kid is coming on strong! Our guy Joe takes 6th – just out of the money but a nice result for him.

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2006 Missouri State Criterium

  1. Daniel B. says:

    The State Crit is a cool course, and a great event! It’s one of the races I look forward to all year. But with that said, it would have been nice to show up with a few more, “horses in the stable” so to speak. But that’s my own fault!

  2. SPC Deal says:

    Just wait until 2009 when I get to also race in the state crit. I can’t wait. Good job Ted.

  3. Patrick says:

    Austin is indeed tearing it up…very, very impressive!!!

    I wish he’d been willing to go off in breaks when he was a 4, but then again he probably would’ve dropped me in a heartbeat, and that’s why he never went with me in a break! 😉

  4. Robert says:

    Good job Ted and also Joe Fuller.

  5. azta110790 says:

    I attack from necessity. As a 4 I never really needed to, and it wouldn’t have worked anyway. I can’t sprint with Rusty, Carlitos, Halloran, or Breslin so I must attack.

    BTW, Ted you are registered as a 5 for Lafeyette Square.

  6. Ted M. says:

    That’s cuz I’m a sandbagger 😉

    Thanx for catching that, Austin!

Leave a Reply

