Am I finally over it?

Went out for a recovery ride today – nothing special about that, other than it was hotter than bijeezuz. But one notable thing happened – or didn’t happen. I took my usual lunchtime route, which ends up along Baxter Road north of Clayton, and for the first time I did not think about getting hit by that a$$hole landscape truck driver when I passed the spot where it happened. I was a ways down the road after passing the spot before I realized it. Man, it’s been almost 3 years since it happened.

That was such a life-changing moment for me – both good and bad. It was about the most painful experience I’ve ever had, and almost 3 months off the bike cost me a lot of fitness and put a lot of doubt in my mind about my ability to come back. But the discipline I learned in my effort to do so was a revelation. I used to go out and just ride as hard as I could every time out with no real goals, and sometimes I’d lose my motivation and start finding excuses not to ride. Now, I ride hard some days, easy other days, and almost every ride has a purpose – even if it’s just to chill out. Maybe it’s just a coincidence, but I’ve been having a lot more fun, and I don’t think I’ve bagged even a single workout since then.

I know that a$$hole truck driver will probably never see this, but if he does I want him to know his attempt to “teach me a lesson” worked – only not the way he planned. Oh, and thanks for the new bikes, too – a$$hole!

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Am I finally over it?

  1. Daniel B. says:

    Ted,

    Back in the summer of 2002, I got hit by a car at the intersection of Wild Horse Creek and Baxter!!!

    Just like you described, for awhile afterwards, I always got a little freaked out going through there… but then one day; I didn’t even think about it.

    Crazy stuff.

  2. SPC Deal says:

    So to be a state champ and all around bike stud you have to like bugs, and get hit by a redneck in a truck? I’m coming home on leave in September, and will do my best to get hit.

    In all seriousness Ted, I remember finding out about your accident. As someone I looked up to a lot in the racing community it really affected me. It’s been awesome seeing what you’ve done afterwards.

    Keep the rubber on the road, and come do some training in Germany.

Leave a Reply

