My time trial bike

Here’s a pic of the bike I built up for time trialing. I’ve been using the frame a couple years now – first as a road bike, then last year I got the aerobar/saddle/rear disc and this year I got the front wheel. Even though it has a 74° seat tube, the zero setback seatpost and forward saddle position effectively make it 77° – plenty forward. The one thing I’m not quite satisfied with is the aerobar – the arm rest cups are made of plastic (one broke earlier this year and it was a real b!tch getting a replacement), and the extensions aren’t quite long enough when I’m riding the nose. I like the downward sloping wings though – good for my frame since the head tube is taller than a typical triathlon/TT frame, and also it gives me a lower more aggressive position for any hard, out-of-the-saddle efforts. Vision Tech makes a sloped wing integrated bar that has alloy arm rests (which should be more durable) and also offers extensions of different lengths, so I’m considering it as a replacement. There are lots of other good integrated models on the market (HED, Profile, etc.), but most of them have flat wings. Plus, most are made of carbon instead of alloy – I don’t know, I just can’t see paying $500 or more to save a measely 100g on a TT bike that sees mostly flat/rolling terrain. It would look flash, for sure, but I think an alloy bar that has great aerodynamics and the ideal configuration for my frame makes the most sense. Anyway, here’s the build:

Frame: 2004 LOOK KG486 High-Modulus monocoque carbon, size M (53 cm)
Fork: LOOK HSC4 carbon, 1 1/8″ carbon steerer
Colour: Gloss black
Cranks: Shimano DuraAce 7800, 172.5 mm, 53X39
Bottom bracket: Shimano DuraAce 7800
Cassette: Shimano DuraAce 7800, 11-23
Chain: Shimano DuraAce 7800 w/ Connex link
Shifters: Shimano DuraAce 7800 bar end
Front derailleur: Shimano DuraAce 7800
Rear derailleur: Shimano DuraAce 7800
Brake levers: Cane Creek Aero
Brake calipers: Shimano DuraAce 7800
Bars: ITM CX2 Dual aerobar
Tape: Stella Azzura Eleganza red/black
Headset: FSA carbon integrated
Pedals: Shimano DuraAce SPD-SL 7800
Seat post: Thomson Elite aluminum, 27.2 mm, black
Saddle: Fizik Arione Triathlon
Computer: Mavic WinTech wireless
Bottle cage: Weyless Leggero carbon Team-1
Wheelset: Zipp 808 (front), Zipp 909 disc (rear)
Tyres: Zipp tubular, 700×21
Other: SRP red alloy chainring bolts, rear derailleur bolt and pulley screws, and cassette lockring

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Bikes, Components and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My time trial bike

  1. Rollitup says:

    Looks fast just sitting there. Unfortunately all I saw of it was a blur.

  2. SPC Deal says:

    I can’t wait to be a TT stud like you Ted. It’s all about the bike.

Leave a Reply

