2006 Missouri State Time Trial

So, I guess for my 1st post, I might as well talk about something good I did (who knows how long it’ll be before I can do that again!). The MO State TT was this past Sunday, something I’ve been looking forward to all season. I won the last 2 years as Cat 4, but Cat 4s don’t get much respect, and after upgrading this year I wanted to see if I could pull off a state championship as a 3. Training went well this season – I did tons of base and big gear power work during the winter and weekly threshold workouts starting the end of March. As a reality check, I went to Kansas in early June and did their State TT. A huge thunderstorm moved in right as I was starting and blew me all over the place, but I still ended up setting a 40-k PR of 55:28 to win the Cat 3 race and take the 2nd fastest time overall (got beat by Kris Tilford, Steve’s ‘unique’ older brother). It was a smaller field than what we normally get in Missouri, but for the first time I started thinking maybe I had a shot at the jersey.

For MO this year, I figured Shawn O’Neil (last year’s Cat 3 winner) was my main competition – he beat my time last year by ~1:00 and really handed it to me in the bike split at the Hillsboro Biathlon three weeks ago. Rusty P. (current Cat 3 MO RR champion) also had me scared, but I figured all I can do is what I can do. Some people were asking me why I didn’t do my Master’s category – since I’m 49 I’d almost surely get a win, but I just didn’t want to do that – I wanted to go against some seriously tough competition and see if I could pull it off. I got the 9th start (9:08am), and as luck would have it Shawn started 3 minutes behind me. I started out with a gentle tailwind and quickly settled into ~27-28 mph pace. The first 10-k I was a little worried I might be going out too hard, but I was feeling good and wanted to make maximum time in the tailwind. I passed my 6-minute man (no joke – he was on like an $8K custom aero bike, too) about halfway out and my 5-minute man a little later. I hit the turnaround at 27:28 (27.4 mph) and had brief thoughts of holding that on the way back and coming in under 55 minutes. Of course, immediately I could feel the headwinds and knew that would not be. Anyway, I starting watching for Shawn after the turn, and here he comes pretty quick. I look down at the computer, and we passed each exactly 1:30 out from the turnaround, so he and I were on a dead even pace. I knew I’d have to bury myself on the way back if I was going to have any shot of beating him. I tried to keep the speed above my turnaround avg, but I just wasn’t keeping it above 27 mph for any real long periods of time. I passed my 1-minute man (Scott Dunsmuir) about 15k out, but the winds were really increasing now and my speed continued to drop. The winds were really blowing during the final 10k, and I was struggling even to keep it above 24 mph. That last 10k were about as excruciating a stretch as I’ve ever done. By about 1.5 miles out I knew I wasn’t going to match last year’s time. My avg had dropped down below 27 mph, and despite the fire in my legs I just concentrated on keeping the rythm. My body was screaming for me to quit – the only thing that kept me going was knowing in my head that I could do it. I finally crossed the line at 56:19, and at first I was pretty bumbed because I worried that might not even be good enough to make the podium. After catching my breath I went back to the finish line – my clock was still going, and I wanted to know right away if Shawn beat me. As the clock approached 59 minutes he still wasn’t in sight, and I knew I had him. The clock ticked past 59:19 and then I see him coming – his time was 56:56, so I beat him by 37 seconds! At that point, I still didn’t know if I’d won – maybe Shawn had just had a bad day – but I dared to start thinking about it, especially after I saw Rusty and he said he did a 58-something.

When the results finally came in there was a big, fat number 1 circled next to my name – woo, hoo! I was 5th in the overalls, got beat by Justin Maskowixkiwbivkitz (won the 1/2 in his 1st 40-k TT – nice), some pro triathlete dude who came out and smoked the Cat 4 race (in fact all races – but I’m not gonna get into the “is he a bagger” debate!), Joe Hill (last year’s 1/2 winner), and a seriously fast John Kersha in one of the Masters categories. So, I really don’t care how much I suck in any other races this year, because I got the one that I really wanted. Okay, maybe I do care…

About Ted C. MacRae

Ted C. MacRae is a research entomologist by vocation and beetle taxonomist by avocation. Areas of expertise in the latter include worldwide jewel beetles (Buprestidae) and North American longhorned beetles (Cerambycidae). More recent work has focused on North American tiger beetles (Cicindelidae) and their distribution, ecology, and conservation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2006 Missouri State Time Trial

  1. SPC Deal says:

    Ted,

    Man, that’s some seriously awesome stuff that you put down Sunday. You need to come across the pond and help me train for the military races that I do. I got two more race weekends to do.

    49 and still kicking A. Inspiration man, inspiration.

  2. Robert says:

    Fantastic race report Ted, very interesting to read. Great job and your dedication to training is a motivator for sure.

  3. Daniel B. says:

    Good race report! You came past me like a speeding bullet! All I could do at that point is just watch you get smaller and smaller, then vanish into the horizon!

    With that said, it was a fairly miserable 40k TT that morning!!

    Way to race!

  4. Rollitup says:

    Kudos. Next year I’m avoiding dogs like the plague & plan on giving you a better run for your money than I gave you this year.

  5. Ted M. says:

    rollitup — setting a PR and getting a jersey despite the dog crash is impressive. See you on the start line next year!

Leave a Reply

